Maine Medical Marijuana Cards/Qualifying Conditions
In Maine, any M.D., D.O. or C.N.P. can recommend cannabis for qualifying patients. Once your doctor has provided a certification, you can designate a dispensary to provide your medicine by completing a simple form at the dispensary site. Find Weed Dispensaries in Maine Here. Every time you visit your designated dispensary to purchase medicine or use other services, you must have your:
Valid Maine State ID (Driver’s License or State Photo ID)
Valid, current proof that you are a Maine medical cannabis patient, either:
- Original, tamper-proof Physician’s Certification; or
- DHHS issued Medical Cannabis Program card
In order to receive a Maine Medical Marijuana Card, your Doctor must certify you to participate in the Maine Medical Marijuana Program for the following conditions:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- HIV or AIDS
- Huntington’s disease
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Nail-patella syndrome
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
PATIENT POSSESSION LIMITS
Two and one-half ounces
A Maine primary caregiver is a person providing care for the registered patient. The caregiver must be 21 years of age or older. The caregiver can never have been convicted of a disqualifying drug offense. Patients can name one or two primary caregivers, however only one person may be allowed to cultivate marijuana for a registered patient.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA RECIPROCITY IN MAINE
Visiting qualifying patients are not authorized to obtain in Maine marijuana for medical use. Visiting patients with valid registry identification card or its equivalent qualify to engage in conduct authorized for the registered patient, the medical use of marijuana, for a 30 day period after entering the State without having to obtain a Maine registry identification card.
IS HOME CULTIVATION ALLOWED IN MAINE
Yes, patients or their primary caregiver may possess no more than six mature marijuana plants.
By law, medical cannabis users are allowed to access their medicine from several sources. They can:
– Grow up to 6 cannabis plants on their own; or
– Designate a caregiver to grow 6 cannabis plants for them; or
– Designate a dispensary to grow up to 6 cannabis plants for them.
Maine State law allows medical cannabis users who choose to grow fewer plants to designate a dispensary to grow the rest of them, to ensure access to a source of medicine until their plants are mature. The total number of mature, flowering plants can never exceed 6. Residents who grow their own may have an additional number of plants in other stages of growth (seedlings or starts) to ensure their next generation.